Home > Linux, Reviews > 10 Things I Love About GNOME 3

10 Things I Love About GNOME 3

There’s a famous quote that goes something like,

“If I had asked my customers what they wanted, they would have said ‘a faster horse’.” -Henry Ford

As you most likely know, Henry Ford’s company popularized the automobile. Naturally, automobiles are very different from horses and if you get too used to how a horse works, you might find it awkward to adjust to using an automobile. Automobiles, obviously, are much better than horses, but they no doubt caused complaints from horse riders who were too used to how things worked as they were and have worked for years. GNOME 3, being released tomorrow (Wednesday April 6), is having a similar problem: how do you innovate without annoying long-time users who are used to the way things are done now? The short answer is: you can’t. Changes must be made that might seem awkward or even stupid at first to some, but you can’t make an omelet without breaking a few eggs.

Fortunately for GNOME, their latest version of their popular desktop environment manages to break very few eggs, if any, and still magically makes omelets regardless of that. GNOME 3 designers and developers have had a lot of time to think and plan about the design of the latest desktop and it shows very clearly in several areas. Some refinement and improvement could come in future releases (and that is actually being worked on right now), but for now I am loving the GNOME 3 desktop as it stands today just fine. Why? I’ll give you 10 reasons:

1. It’s distraction-free

Most “modern” desktops today bombard you with icons, colors, buttons, notifications that cover the work you’re doing, and other annoying “features”. GNOME 3 rethinks this entirely. The top bar is uncluttered and simple, bringing an air of minimalism while still providing the features you need at your fingertips. Unlike other desktops where the clock is shoved in the corner, often between or right next to a bunch of other buttons and icons, the clock is moved right to the middle of the panel where it’s easy to see. GNOME 3 also hides the window list and “message tray” (for notifications) by default; no blinking “click me” or “attention” lights anywhere!

2. It has a new visual style

Many desktops either focus on being shiny or basic; never both. GNOME 3 somehow manages to be both, giving it a refreshing style that says “I’m new” yet “I’m mature” at the same time. The top panel is very small and exclusively black and white in color. This is not only good for accessibility purposes, but it makes the desktop look less distracting as I said above. It also includes a new default application (GTK) theme, “Adwaita”, which is easy to look at and stylish as well. It also uses nice and simple visual effects that don’t go too overboard on the “eye-candy” scale.

3. It puts me in the driver’s seat

When I use other desktop environments, it seems almost like they try to control how I work or what I do, such as offering “suggestions” when I know what I’m doing (Clippy, anyone?) or asking “if I’m sure I want to do this”. GNOME 3 assumes automatically that I know what I’m doing and only helps me when I specifically ask it to. If I want to switch windows, I ask for the window switcher. If I want to search, I ask for the search function. If I want to upgrade software, I ask to do so. It doesn’t bug me over and over to “do this” or “do that”, but lets me decide what I do and when, and that feels very empowering. If I ever do something that I didn’t want to do, instead of asking if I’m sure, it gives me the option to undo immediately but it doesn’t shove the option in my face. The new message tray in the bottom right corner also is blocked from showing notifications when I switch my status from “Available” to “Busy”. Instead of constantly bugging me about a notification that pops up, it stores it in the message tray for me to read at my leisure. No other desktop that I know of does this as effectively as GNOME 3.

4. All new, integrated settings manager

GNOME now provides a “Control Panel”-like settings menu like in Windows or Mac, but much simpler and easier to use. Clicking any option quickly brings up a simple settings dialog with a button to go back to the main settings menu. GNOME 2 had something similar, but it wasn’t nearly as integrated and straightforward as the current implementation.

5. Starting fresh

Many components of GNOME 2 have been deprecated or hard to maintain, and GNOME 3 does away with these entirely. Most notably removed is the old GNOME panel, replaced by the new GNOME Shell, the default desktop UI I’ve been referencing. Many libraries and programs were also upgraded to new versions such as GTK+, Empathy Instant Messenger, Nautilus File Browser and more.

6. Extensibility

GNOME 3 provides an extension mechanism similar to modern web browsers. Simply install an extension in the proper directory and restart your desktop (Alt+F2 and type “r”, or simply log out and log back in). git.gnome.org has a wonderful repository of extensions that some people may find useful, including a different Status Menu, different Alt+Tab behavior for switching windows, a persistent dock on the right side of the screen and many others. You can easily write your own in JavaScript if you feel like it as well. I’ve found, though, that I don’t need any of the many extensions available so far. GNOME 3’s default settings are very reasonable and needed very little tweaking to be the way I wanted them to be.

7. Smart window and workspace management

There are a multitude of ways to work with your windows and applications in GNOME 3. Most notable is the “Activities” overlay which can be toggled with a click, a hot-corner (moving your mouse into the corner the button is located), or a button press (the “Windows” key, also known as Super/Meta). The Activities overlay shows all of your windows spatially organized in the center, with a more traditional “dock”-like window list at the left. On the right is a “workspace” selector for window organizing. Each one, if you’re unfamiliar with the concept of workspaces, can hold different windows into groups as to keep your desktop uncluttered and allow you to focus on the task at hand. GNOME 3 lets you drag and drop windows to multiple workspaces and it automatically makes new ones as soon as you need them. This makes it easier to find the window you want to switch to and keeps your desktop nice and organized. GNOME 3 also has a Windows 7-like gesture feature where you can drag windows past the top of the screen to maximize them and to the sides of the screen for side-by-side viewing. I use this a lot when watching a video and browsing another web page at the same time, and it’s very useful.

8. Minimalism

As I’ve stated earlier GNOME 3 is very minimal in several respects. There is no “configuration overload” like in KDE, where there are many useless options that don’t need to be present whatsoever and only make using the software more confusing. Another minimalistic change present that I didn’t mention earlier was the removal of the “minimize” and “maximize” buttons, leaving only one button (for now) on every window. The functionality is still there, but they decided that it would be simpler to not include a button. Maximizing can already be done with a simple double-click or a gesture as mentioned earlier, so there’s no need for a button and makes window management seem simpler (and gives you a much wider target area for maximizing). Minimization, however, makes little sense in the context of GNOME 3. There are no desktop icons because you shouldn’t have to move a window around to see what’s behind it on your desktop, as well as how cluttered and ugly desktops can become over time. Because there’s little reason to minimize a window, the functionality was hidden, though still present if you absolutely must use it (though I can’t fathom a reason why). It also uses very little screen space, even less than most “Netbook” UIs available now.

9. Easy yet powerful

GNOME 3 is incredibly straightforward to use and simple for new users to get used to. Even though it’s so simple, power users will find a lot of love present. GNOME 3 includes a myriad of keyboard shortcuts to make using your desktop quicker than ever, such as Alt+F2 to run any command, Alt+Tab to switch between windows in a group (and Alt+` to move between windows in the same application), Ctrl+Alt+Tab for keyboard navigation of the panel and Activities overlay, pressing the “Windows” key to use the Activities overlay, and many more. You can see them all and customize them to what you want in the new settings manager. GNOME 3 also has an extremely handy search function as well; just open the Activities overview and start typing and you’ll get instant results from your applications, files and places. The search function and Alt+Tab alone, even without the other features, are more than enough to suit my needs.

10. A wealth of great applications

GNOME is known for it’s very easy to use applications, and GNOME 3 is no different. The Empathy Instant Messenger is one of my favorites, which is surprising to me even still because for years I was a die-hard Pidgin fan (another instant messenger). I made the switch recently and it actually does a very good job, actually feeling much simpler and smoother than the other instant messengers I’ve used over the years. Rhythmbox, the default GNOME music player, does almost everything I ask of it and is very extensible with plugins in addition to being easy to use. Brasero, while not the most feature-filled disc burning application out there, is very simple to use and integrates with Rhythmbox for playlist burning. I’ve also grown to liking the default text editor, Gedit, as well as the default File Manager, Nautilus; both of which are very simple, powerful and extensible. GNOME 3 also integrates with these programs very nicely, such as letting me reply to messages in Empathy right from the notification itself or by letting me control Rhythmbox from the message tray. There are a ton of other great applications of GNOME’s, such as the AbiWord word processor or the surprisingly usable Epiphany web browser. If you ever try GNOME, check them all out and see how they work!

Unlike more expensive, less-open, and less-usable desktops, GNOME is completely free in both senses of the word. To see up-to-date screenshots, videos, and even try GNOME 3 for yourself, visit gnome3.org or the GNOME 3 release page (as well as the release notes page). If it seems rather odd or even bad to you at first, try it for a week with an open mind. Try to adjust your workflow to how GNOME Shell works and see how much it improves! Trust me, it really does work wonders :)!

I am GNOME

Categories: Linux, Reviews Tags: ,
  1. Stéphane
    April 5, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Great article! Come on GNOME 3, just a few hours left!

  2. April 5, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    I’m no longer running a Linux box, so I wont be making use of the latest version of GNOME although, I know that when I WAS running a Linux machine a far preferred it (Version 2) to KDE and some other environments. Others -Like KDE- were far far far to heavy on the system, where yet others where prone to glitches and were short on features and usability tools. However I remember when GNOME 3 went into dev. and I was very afraid that it would become too heavy like KDE on system resources. I’d be interested to know how much heavier or lighter it has become on system resources with this latest build. I’m curious to know more!

    • April 5, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      GNOME 3 feels just as light as GNOME 2, if not more so because it gets rid of a lot of things. The new visual effects, while they require 3D acceleration (if I’m not mistaken), can be ran on any computer made within the past 6 or so years. I’m running GNOME 3 on an old GeForce 6 (Nvidia) and it’s smooth as ever, which is surprising because many things (such as Flash) are very slow on my configuration, but not on more recent ones that I’ve used. It’s still heavier than some of the more lighter desktops out there, but it’s surprisingly smooth. Check out one of the LiveCDs available! As of this time, the only live images on the GNOME 3 website are of slightly older versions, but tomorrow there should be a more recent image uploaded somewhere.

  3. April 5, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I’ve gone to the site and looked at the new features and new look! IT LOOKS AMAZING! It really makes me want to go back to running a Linux machine… Too bad I need my Windows 7 one for so much stuff…

    • Jeff
      September 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      It looks “AMAZING”, but when you use it, it really really sucks. It sucks the most, I start to get why ubuntu wanted to this unity thing. I’m not saying that they did a great job there either.

  4. cedric
    April 6, 2011 at 2:26 am

    Conclusion, Gnome3 do nothing, thanks for this revue…

    • April 6, 2011 at 7:05 am

      I don’t quite understand what you mean. I think that GNOME 3 does “something”, as evidenced by how hard I’m trying to promote it ;). If you can, give it a try for a week with an open mind and see how it feels.

    • John
      April 26, 2011 at 10:26 am

      I hear it’s got a killer spell-checker.

  5. Alejandro Nova
    April 6, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    The quote of Henry Ford is kinda ironic. He was who said “Any customer can have a car painted any colour that he wants so long as it is black”. The GNOME motto seems to be “Any user can have an interface painted any colour that he wants so long as it is white”…

    • April 7, 2011 at 7:29 am

      @Alejandro, yes he did, thanks for reminding me! A rather humorous quote, yes? However, your “GNOME motto” does not quite ring true as you’re able to change the GNOME Shell, GTK, and window border themes in GNOME 3. The options are hidden because they are not officially supported due to there being very few (if any) alternative themes in existance, though it is still possible to use old metacity window borders. You can read all about it in my other blog post here, “How To Tweak GNOME 3 To Your Needs” 🙂

      • Jeff
        September 29, 2011 at 9:19 pm

        I fully agree with @alejandro. Forget about window border, or theme, that’s not related to usability. How do I add an applet to the top bar, how do I add another bar, How do I add the window list.
        I’m a developer, and I need those.

      • September 30, 2011 at 8:57 am

        I would think that the contrast, size, and location of the icons in your theme are all valid measures of usability. You can customize the interface using extensions which I mention in another article on here, but depending on what applets you “need” you might not actually need them. I’ve learned to live without most of the applets I once held near and dear like DockbarX and Panflute. If you need a window list, you can always use the Activities overview which has Windows 7 and Mac-like dock-style icons on the left, or you could use Alt+Tab and Alt+` for switching between applications and windows in an application respectively. The Alt+Tab pop-up is also completely mouse and keyboard navigable, so you don’t have to use only those keys to switch windows.

        What would be nice in the future is an official “GNOME Mouse” with a button with Alt+Tab functionality… Mmm…

  6. jrdls
    April 6, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    “There is no “configuration overload” like in KDE, where there are many useless options that don’t need to be present whatsoever and only make using the software more confusing”
    This sounds to me as if it were an absolute truth. It isn’t. To my mind KDE applications are usable, their interfaces are quite clean and they are intuitive (certainly not confusing) and quite consistent too. Anyway I urge you to be mindful in the future about how you put things, as very few things are black or white. I’m being polite but unfortunately many people in the web aren’t and this kind of absolute statements do attract trolls.
    Cheers, Ricardo.

    • April 7, 2011 at 7:54 am

      I just personally feel that some configuration options simply do not need to be present. Yes, KDE applications are “usable”, but some of the programs seem more confusing than their GNOME counterparts to me, specifically because of there being too many configuration options. There are a lot of ways to use my desktop in KDE so I can make it as efficient as I want, yes, but GNOME instead tries to tell me upfront how my desktop should be configured and I appreciate that. Instead of “you can do this”, I get “you should do this” and “your desktop automatically does this for you”. Most people would take that as an insult because they do not like being told what to do, but I find it refreshing that the GNOME project knows what’s best for the user in several areas (usability testing, design documents, etc; It will only improve in later releases) so I do not have to wonder, “do I need this option?” or “how would this make my desktop more efficient”? Last I used KDE, which was about half a year ago, I found it mostly okay, but it did not feel nearly as simple as GNOME was to me and turned me off to it.

  7. Doccus
    April 7, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Found your blog in the middle of the gnome 3 rants on /.
    Personally i’m interested.. i have found the ‘are you sure you want to do that’ dialogs maker me want to throw a rock at the screen.. and any interface that bypasses those violations sure piques my interest..
    I’m not a ‘multiboot hobbyist’ though, and if i’m going to reinstall linux it’s because i’m going to seriously ‘*use* it
    Now that there’s a genuine modern shell for Linux i may just do that..
    Thank you…

  8. pcabido
    April 11, 2011 at 3:55 am

    Nice article! Congratz to the Gnome team.

    Although I like it in a general way, feels great to use and looks awesome, there are some things I would like to see.. and the first one is about notifications.
    Quoting you «GNOME 3 also hides the window list and “message tray” (for notifications) by default; no blinking “click me” or “attention” lights anywhere!», that’s nice when your concentrated in your work, or as you said, busy, but other the notifications are meant to notify you, that’s the purpose of the thing. I use pidgin (doesn’t matter why) and I want to see it’s notifications/status changes (the icon change when somebody chats with you). At least I want to be able to “tell” gnome to show me that.

    Another thing I miss is the ability to switch desktops with the mouse, I have a mx 518 and it has all those extra buttons but there is no place to configure that. Maybe an extension can solve this…

    I also want to have favorite places outside nautilus, in the shell/dock. Maybe that’s possible… I confess I haven’t looked into that but saw that I can’t add “Home” as a favorite.

    I think these are the biggest issues I found while using gnome3.

    • April 11, 2011 at 8:21 am

      @pcabio, some of those things would be rather nice, I agree :). You can change desktops with the mouse by flicking it to the top-left corner and double-clicking on the workspace you want, but I agree that there should be a faster way to do it. Also, when some program notifies you of something, it pops up at the bottom so it’s easy to see and then it goes back to the message tray. It should be pretty hard to not miss a notification unless you’re using the screen zoom function (though that might be fixed later). A notification pops up every time a program down there (that’s properly designed, that is) changes status.

  9. April 18, 2011 at 10:27 am

    I use the GNOME desktop because it has a clean interface and I’m simply more productive. From what I read, GNOME 3 continues with this approach. Would you agree?

    Today I will attempt to build GNOME 3 from source on my netbook that’s running Linux Mint 10.

    • April 19, 2011 at 7:46 am

      @Martin, Yes I would agree :), but I would not agree as to your method of testing. I tried building GNOME 3 on a desktop recently, and it’s a lot of work. You’re much better off trying out one of the liveCD images from gnome3.org, or waiting until Fedora 15 is released.

      • April 20, 2011 at 1:44 am

        You are correct; it did take a long time. However, building from source in my home folder was quite safe since the original GNOME desktop is untouched. Also, running a live CD doesn’t give the same experience and I was interested in notebook performance. I describe, albeit briefly, how I installed GNOME 3/ GNOME Shell in my latest post.

  10. April 21, 2011 at 1:01 am

    The problem with your quote is the following one:

    Henry Ford was *not* the main provider of horses, nor of carriages.

    By providing the world with automobiles, he did not *cut* the sources of horses and carriages.

    People had really the *choice* to use either of them.

    This is not the case with GNOME3: the classical GNOME2 style is never to be continued, the same way KDE4 meant support for KDE3 stopped right away.

    GNOME 2.32 and older versions are still available in LTS distros (e.g. RHEL), but nobody will fix or improve them. GNOME3 and its Shell are “the new way” and the single way supported by the “providers/developers of GNOME”.

    In contrast, while Henry Ford was selling cars, all the “providers of horses” and “providers/developers of carriages” continued to sell their merchandise, and they continued to do so for *decades* before the automobile took over.

    It’s the difference bewteen *true choice* and forced choice.

    Even Microsoft decided eventually to extend the support of Windows XP after Vista was seen as a failure. The KDE and the GNOME projects are *worse than Microsoft* in the way they *force* their userbase to use only the latest and greatest shit.

    • April 21, 2011 at 9:06 am

      @Béranger, Of course Ford didn’t provide horses. Likewise, GNOME doesn’t provide “Windows 95-style Desktops”. Why should GNOME be developing two different desktop UIs at once? Not even Microsoft, like you say, does that; they’re only supporting XP because there are so many customers already using it that refuse to switch to anything newer/better. RHEL would be stupid not to provide support for GNOME 2.32, and they as well as several other companies are providing support for it. It’s not completely dead, but it’s just like the XP situation you described above, albeit less important due to there being less customers than Microsoft has for XP. How can you say that GNU/Linux users are forced to change when we have LTS distros, several desktop environments besides KDE/GNOME? Choice is not always a good thing, you know, and the GNOME team is doing a great job at developing a usable desktop environment. Some choices, like supporting GNOME 2 for extended periods of time, are stupid because GNOME 2 has been around for a long time and, if you forgot, GNOME 3 has a “fallback mode” that uses the old GNOME 2 UI style. Saying there’s no choice here is ignorant of the reality; there’s plenty choice.

      • April 21, 2011 at 5:32 pm

        No, the FALLBACK mode in GNOME3 does *not* provide a 100% complete GNOME 2.32 experience — some features are still missing!

        And, in time, I’m pretty sure the fallback mode will be discontinued.

        So no, you’re not right.

      • April 21, 2011 at 6:26 pm

        @Béranger, I didn’t say it was a “100% complete GNOME 2.32 experience”. For the people that want the old GNOME 2 UI, they should use one of the distros that provides support for it (RHEL is 10 years, I believe) or use a similar UI, like XFCE. GNOME is moving on, just like Microsoft is with it ending support for Windows XP, which, like GNOME 2, has had a long life and needs to die sometime. Windows XP, for example, was released in 2001 and supports ends in 2014. GNOME 2 was released in 2002, and support from Red Hat (which develops a lot of the GNOME 2 desktop) ends in 2020 (though that’s for 2.32, which still counts as GNOME 2).

  11. May 6, 2011 at 6:10 am

    @Sloshy and Béranger:

    Actually I would say that Gnome 3’s fallback mode is missing *many* features compared to Gnome 2. I couldn’t find any way to customize panels, applets, launchers (doesn’t exist anymore ?), to prevent my laptop from suspend when I close it, to display icons on the desktop… and to make gnome-tweak-tool work (maybe this could solve my other problems). So right now I can say that I’m not that far from hating this new Gnome 3.

    “GNOME is moving on, just like Microsoft is with it ending support for Windows XP, which, like GNOME 2, has had a long life and needs to die sometime.”
    > The difference is that XP has been living alongside with Vista and 7 for some time now, where Gnome 2 died at the moment Gnome 3 was born.

    • May 6, 2011 at 9:06 am

      I’m sure that, if you can’t find a GUI to configure Fallback Mode, that it can be configured with dconf-editor (something maybe with gconf-editor). Browse around and see what you can find. I’ve seen pictures of people using Fallback Mode, but heavily customized, so it’s not impossible. Also, GNOME 2 isn’t dead. It’s still supported by older versions of distributions, and things like RHEL, where it’ll be supported for a long time in enterprise deployments. The latest release of RHEL, 6, contains GNOME 2.32. A lot of GNOME 2 developers work at Red Hat, so it’s not totally dead yet.

  12. Eddie
    May 28, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    I can’t get past all of this “Microsoft does it, so it’s perfectly reasonable” stuff. Just because Microsoft (or any other tech company for that matter) does something is irrelevant. People should do what is right, not what they can get away with “because others also do it.”

    I haven’t yet played with Gnome3, but clearly some people here are drinking the cool aid.

    • May 28, 2011 at 10:18 pm

      @Eddie, “Microsoft does” what? It’s not exactly clear from your post. Also, I don’t see how liking GNOME 2 is “drinking the kool-aid”, when it’s a very valid thing to like. Could you elaborate please? Am I missing something?

      • Eddie
        May 31, 2011 at 5:37 pm

        I was referring to comments like this one:

        GNOME is moving on, just like Microsoft is with it ending support for Windows XP, which, like GNOME 2, has had a long life and needs to die sometime.

        and this one:

        Why should GNOME be developing two different desktop UIs at once? Not even Microsoft, like you say, does that;

        I never said that GNOME3 is bad or has nothing to like. Only that we should hold ourselves to a higher standard than the companies that so many people complain about. Having now used GNOME3 for a few days, there is much to like. There is some real innovation. But there are also some valid things to complain about and it’s silly to pretend that everything is perfect.

      • May 31, 2011 at 5:51 pm

        I never said that I thought it was perfect and I never said that there aren’t any flaws with it. I did say that I really liked it and that other desktops didn’t feel nearly as nice to me, which is true. The GNOME Bugzilla is a great example of things wrong with GNOME 3, and I frequent reporting on it; I’d know if there were problems (which there are) 😉

  13. Eddie
    May 31, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    What happened is that I took comments here comparing the actions of GNOME to the actions of Microsoft (paraphrased, “They’re doing no worse than Microsoft does, so it’s OK.”) and put that into the context that too many GNOME folks (specifically, some of the top developers and leadership of GNOME) seeming to worship all that Microsoft does, and thus they often repeat the very same UI mistakes of Microsoft and call it progress.

    I strongly like some features of GNOME3 — now that I’ve used it — but I also strongly dislike some of the other features. For example, the minimalist approach to notification that Win7 takes is present in GNOME3. I *like* the persistent notifications, but even more strongly, I *dislike* that if you don’t notice a notification during it’s short pop-up period then you won’t know it ever occurred unless you go looking for it. In that regard it’s even worse than Win7, which makes this very mistake but not quite so badly.

    Still. I am determined to give GNOME3 a fair shake. So I’m going to stick with it for a few weeks at least to see how I feel about it after forcing myself to try to follow intended GNOME3 workflows. I see some nice UI innovation. I’m going to poke around.

    Also, I’m sensitive to folks who in defense of one platform criticize a valid feature of another. For example, the folks who prefer KDE over GNOME like its configurability! So criticizing the configurability of KDE is seen as missing the point or just overaggressive support of its competition to those folks. In the “KDE vs GNOME” debate I don’t have a preferred side.

    That’s where I was coming from. Also, I was really cranky when I posted that initial comment. Sorry!

  14. June 8, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I have just installed Arch and Gnome 3 and I must say that I actually like it. It isn’t THAT different from Gnome 2. You use all programs in the same way as before, but you start and manage them and that stuff a bit differently. Not really a big deal for me. And we have to keep in mind that this is an .0 release, so we will see many improvements and more extensions in the future. And I have to add that I think everything looks really gorgeous, pretty and modern in Gnome 3! =)

  15. September 7, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Here’s gnome 3 live using archlinux:

    http://www.ahashare.com/torrents-details.php?id=180044

  16. September 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Great post! I used Gnome 3 when Fedora 15 came out. It was a little buggy and sluggish for me. I Switch to Arch Linux running Gnome 3 and it just really moves. I really didn’t think I would like it but once you give it a real try (Primary desktop for a week or two) it is really nice.

    If you have a hard time adjusting you can always give some of the extensions a try.

  17. Edwin
    February 5, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Sorry to revive an old blog…
    I am a long time Linux user and went from Red Hat via Mandrake and Gentoo to Ubuntu. In that time initially liked KDE a lot, then started warming to Gnome. During that time I also worked with Windows a lot (out of necessity) and hated every second of it.
    Recently when Ubuntu went to Unity, I really wanted to like it, because I felt Gnome 2 was a mess. Somehow I never got used to it and got a Mac. I like OSX and am still using it.
    But then about a week ago I decided to install Fedora 16 on my work PC. I knew nothing about Gnome 3, and I was pleasantly surprised from the 1st second. It does everything I was always looking for without being too present.
    Every day I work with it I like it more. This is how interacting with a PC should be! Easy, effortless, uncluttered, fast, ….
    I am not married to any vendor, OS, linux distro or desktop environment, but for me the preference is:
    1) Gnome 3
    2) OS X
    ..
    ..
    ..
    10) nothing else is even close really

  1. April 6, 2011 at 2:56 pm
  2. April 29, 2011 at 7:29 am

Leave a comment